• jounniy@ttrpg.networkOP
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    5
    ·
    3 months ago

    I think nonliving creatures may be more specific versions of objects then, since I couldn’t find any reference of creatures not being considered objects (because who would even say that, it should be obvious if you use your brain), but it also means that if a spell or ability only allows you to target or create objects and has no specification in regards to creatures, undead and constructs are valid targets by RAW.

    • Doc_Crankenstein@slrpnk.net
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      1
      ·
      3 months ago

      undead and constructs are valid targets by RAW.

      I mean, if you follow the logic, undead are “animated corpses” and constructs are “animated objects”, sooo… Sure, the “Rule of Cool” wins my vote on this.

      • jounniy@ttrpg.networkOP
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        1
        ·
        2 days ago

        Yes. That’s the point. But you don’t need rule of cool for this. You just need to use at least a single braincell to apply RAI.

        • Doc_Crankenstein@slrpnk.net
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          1
          ·
          2 days ago

          Gonna disagree, rule of cool is the deciding factor between the RAI vs RAW interpretations.

          I wouldn’t say it’s RAI, spells or abilities meant for inanimate objects typically don’t include undead under colloquial interpretations but it is definitely RAW using very technical interpretations.